Skip to main content

Renewables Letter to Senate


Renewables Logo


March 25, 2015

Dear Senator:

The U.S. Senate begins debate this week on the Fiscal Year 2016 Budget Resolution.  Senator Michael Bennet will be offering an amendment (#715) which expresses support for the extension of expired and expiring federal tax credits for renewable energy production and investment as the bridge to tax reform.  On behalf of the thousands of American companies and over 500,000 Americans working in the renewable energy sector, we strongly encourage you to support the Bennet Amendment.

Over the past five years, nearly 44% of all new domestic power generation capacity has come from renewable energy resources, including more than 56% of all new power generation capacity in 2014 – surpassing all other energy sources. The investment tax credit (ITC) and the production tax credit (PTC) have been the primary federal policy drivers for this growth, spurring private sector investment, creating jobs, and driving down costs significantly, making renewable and clean technologies more cost competitive.

The clean energy sector has the potential to be one of the greatest engines of middle class job growth in the 21st century, while providing our nation with secure sources of clean and renewable domestic energy. To realize that objective, however, we must have a supportive and certain tax policy environment.

Again, on behalf of our thousands of member companies and more than half a million Americans working in our industries, we ask you to send an unambiguous signal of support for clean and renewable energy. Please vote for the Bennet Amendment to the Senate Budget Resolution in support of continuing tax incentives for clean and renewable domestic energy sources.



Rhone Resch, President and CEO

Solar Energy Industries Association

Tom Kiernan, CEO

American Wind Energy Association

Karl Gawell, Executive Director

Geothermal Energy Association 

David Gardiner, Executive Director

Alliance for Industrial Efficiency

Patrick Serfess, Executive Director

American Biogas Council

Ted Michaels, President

Energy Recovery Council

Linda Church Ciocci, Executive Director

National Hydropower Association

Robert E. Cleaves, President & CEO

 Biomass Power Association

Jennifer Jenkins, Executive Director

Distributed Wind Energy Association

Bud DeFlaviis, Director of Government Affairs 
Fuel Cell and Hydrogen Energy Association



















Resource Type