President Joseph R. Biden, Jr. The White House 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue NW Washington, DC 20500

CC:

Secretary Jennifer Granholm, U.S. Department of Energy Gina McCarthy, White House National Climate Advisor Administrator Michael S. Regan, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

February 16, 2022

Dear Mr. President:

As CEOs of clean energy infrastructure companies and leaders in U.S. energy storage manufacturing and deployment, we write today to urge all negotiating parties to continue the important work of getting swift passage of consensus legislation based on the Build Back Better Act.

As you know, this legislation is essential for growing American manufacturing jobs, ensuring the health and well-being of American families, strengthening our nation's infrastructure and transportation systems, and for meeting our energy and climate goals.

As Congress continues to shape a reconciliation bill that offers a once-in-a-generation opportunity to improve consumer affordability, energy access, and energy security and reliability, we urge you to continue advancing the energy tax provisions and the associated direct pay provisions found in both the House and Senate versions. The direct pay provisions are a crucial part of creating a level playing field for companies of all sizes to compete and they address capital constraints that currently exist in the Investment Tax Credit (ITC) market. Availability of these provisions directly contributes to the ability of the renewable energy sector to continue to grow, scale and meet demand.

Energy storage technologies are pivotal to America's grid resiliency, grid security and net-zero goals. Certainty in the tax provisions allows our companies to continue to develop energy and climate solutions at scale and to build a diverse and reliable energy portfolio to support residential, commercial, and public sector entities. Stand-alone energy storage, while included in the Build Back Better legislation, is not currently captured in today's codified Investment Tax Credit (ITC) structure. That's why it is imperative to pass these provisions now so developers and manufacturers can scale in time to contribute to sound grid infrastructure and to help meet U.S. climate goals for 2035 and beyond.

Our companies and industries are at the forefront of economic growth and job creation in the nation's energy sector. We are working hard every day to build on this success and stand ready to work with you to create the policy environment that will help us do so.

We commend your hard work and that of your staff towards creating historic legislation for our country. Let's work together to support and grow the American economy and jobs now.

Sincerely,

Henry Yun, CEO **174 Power GlobAl**

Thomas Buttgenbach, CEO 8minute Solar Energy

Howard Trott, CEO

Advanced Rail Energy Storage (ARES)

Barrett C. Bilotta, President

Agilitas Energy

George Sakellaris, President & CEO

Ameresco

Justin Johnson, Chief Operating Officer

Arevon

Gary W. Dorris, CEO **Ascend Analytics**

Moe Hajabed, CEO **Aypa Power**

Chris Dunbar, CEO
Blue Ridge Power, LLC

Trevor Hardy, CEO **BlueWave Solar**

Mike Hall, CEO **Borrego**

Peter G Vigue, Chairman

Cianbro

Thomas Byrne, CEO

CleanCapital

Russ Weed, President & CEO CleanTech Strategies LLC

Sarah Slusser, CEO

Cypress Creek Renewables

Michael Herbert, Managing Partner

Delorean Power LLC

Andrew Foukal, CEO
East Point Energy

Philip Brennan, CEO

Echogen

Sandhya Ganapathy, CEO
EDP Renewables North America

Ronald DiFelice, Ph.D., Managing Partner

Energy Intelligence Partners

Badri Kothandaraman, CEO

Enphase Energy

Aaron Zubaty, CEO

Eolian

Joe Mastrangelo, CEO **Eos Energy Enterprises**

Devin Dilley, President & CEO

EPC Power Corp.

Eric Dresselhuys, CEO

ESS Tech, Inc.

Randolph Mann, President

esVolta, LP

Kelcy Pegler, Jr., CEO

FlexGen

Manuel Perez Dubuc, CEO

Fluence

Mateo Jaramillo, CEO and Co-Founder

Form Energy

Judy McElroy, CEO

Fractal Energy Storage Consultants

Chris McKissack, CEO

GlidePath Power Solutions LLC

Azeem Qureshi, CEO Grasshopper Energy

Mark P. DePasquale, CEO Green Development, LLC

Terry Judge, CEO **Hotstart, Inc.**

Jamal Burki, President

IHI Terrasun Solutions Inc.

Todd Thorner, CEO

JTN Energy

Andrew Bowman, CEO Jupiter Power LLC

Jeff Bishop, CEO **Key Capture Energy**

Lindsay Gorrill, Co-Founder & CEO

KORE Power, Inc.

Erik Lensch, CEO

Leyline Renewable Capital

Kevin B. Smith, CEO, Americas

Lightsource bp

Paul Gaynor, CEO **Longroad Energy**

Steve Fludder, President & CEO

LS Energy Solutions

Ramya Swaminathan, CEO

Malta Inc.

Davion Hill, Cofounder

Momentum Energy Storage Partners

Daniel L. Johnson, President and CEO

Mortenson

Kyle Shen, CEO and Managing Partner

Nexceris

Cory Schaeffer, CEO
NexESS Analytics

Cyrus Tashakkori, President Open Road Renewables

Taylor Henderson, Chief Energizing Officer

Outshine Energy

Derek Lim Soo, CEO
Peak Power Energy Corp

Ben Catt, Chief Operating Officer Pine Gate Renewables, LLC

Brandon J Keefe, CEO
Plus Power, LLC

Geoff Brown, CEO

Powin

Jae Kyu Lee, President Q Cells USA Corp.

Joe Zhou, CEO **Quidnet Energy, Inc.**

Michael Arndt, President and General Manager

Recurrent Energy, LLC

John Rohde, CEO

Renewable Energy Systems (RES)

Rick Conant, PE, Founder RLC Engineering, PLLC

Paul Jacob, CEO **Rye Development**

Douglas Wagner, CEO **Saturn Power Corp.**

Nick Lincoln, President

Savion, LLC

Mr. Jesse Grossman, CEO

Soltage

John Carrington, CEO **Stem**

Markus Wilhelm, Founder & CEO Strata Clean Energy

Kelly H. Sarber, CEO Strategic Project Management, Inc.

Hank Wang, President **Sungrow Americas**

Peter Faricy, CEO and Board Chairman **SunPower Corporation**

Sanjoy Banerjee, CEO / Founder **Urban Electric Power**

William Morrow, Country Manager - US X-Elio North America