Skip to main content

Energy Industry Associations React to FERC Action on DOE Proposal to Subsidize Coal, Nuclear Power Plants

Media Availability set for Jan. 9 at 10:00 a.m. ET with reactions from experts that filed joint energy industry comments

Monday, Jan 08 2018

Share
Press Release

WASHINGTON, D.C. - A diverse group of nine energy industry associations representing oil, natural gas, wind, solar, efficiency, and other energy technologies today reacted to the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission's (FERC) formal action on the Department of Energy’s (DOE) proposed rulemaking on grid resiliency pricing. In its order, FERC terminates the proceeding begun by the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking submitted by the Dept. of Energy, taking no action on the rule proposed by DOE, and then initiates a new proceeding, directing each RTO and ISO to submit information on “certain resilience issues and concerns” to enable the commission to “examine holistically the resilience of the bulk power system.” FERC specifies that “the goal of this proceeding is: (1) to develop a common understanding among the Commission, industry, and others of what resilience of the bulk power system means and requires; (2) to understand how each RTO and ISO assesses resilience in its geographic footprint; and (3) to use this information to evaluate whether additional Commission action regarding resilience is appropriate at this time.”

In reaction, the industry trade associations, AEE, ACORE, API, AWEA, ESA, EPSA, INGAA, NGSA, and SEIA jointly issued the following statement:


“We are very encouraged by the action taken by FERC today. We look forward to engaging with FERC, DOE, and grid operators in an examination of what resilience of the electric power system means and requires, and to demonstrating the contribution of our industries to ensuring reliable power for all.”

The joint group announced a press event to share further reactions and respond to press questions about the FERC action:

WHEN:          Tues., Jan. 9, 2018 at 10:00 a.m. ET (arrivals 9:45 a.m.)
WHERE:        K&L Gates LLP, Conference Room 1-D
                      1601 K Street, NW (entrance on 16th St.)
                      Washington, D.C. 20006
WHO: 

  • Malcolm Woolf, SVP Policy, Advanced Energy Economy
  • Todd Foley, SVP Policy & Gov. Affairs, American Council on Renewable Energy
  • Amy Farrell, SVP Gov. & Public Affairs, American Wind Energy Association
  • Kelly Speakes-Backman, Energy Storage Association
  • Dena Wiggins, President & CEO, Natural Gas Supply Association
  • Dan Whitten, VP Communications, Solar Energy Industries Association 

CALL-IN OPTION:  866-961-8496 (Q&A for media only)


###

LEARN MORE ABOUT THE INDUSTRY GROUPS:
Advanced Energy Economy at www.aee.net
American Council on Renewable Energy at www.acore.org
American Petroleum Institute at www.api.org
American Wind Energy Association at www.awea.org/DOEresiliencyrule
Electric Power Supply Association at https://epsa.org
Energy Storage Association at http://energystorage.org/
Interstate Natural Gas Association of America at www.ingaa.org
Natural Gas Supply Association at www.ngsa.org
Solar Energy Industries Association at www.seia.org 

BACKGROUND RESOURCES:

MEDIA CONTACTS:
AEE, Monique Hanis, mhanis@aee.net202-391-0884
ACORE, Gil Jenkins, jenkins@acore.org 202-777-7584
API, Michael, Tadeo, tadeom@api.org202-682-8540
AWEA, Peter Kelley, pkelley@awea.org202-270-8831
EPSA, John Shelk, jshelk@epsa.org(202) 628-8200
ESA, Jason Burwen, j.burwen@energystorage.org, 202-293-0537
INGAA, Cathy Landry, clandry@ingaa.org 202-216-5913
NGSA, Daphne Magnuson, daphne.magnuson@ngsa.org202-326-9314
SEIA, Alex Hobson, ahobson@seia.org202-556-2886